Cultural Affairs



Museums and Heritage Unit is part of the Cultural Affairs Directorate. Museums and Heritage’s mandate and functions are to identify, manage, preserve, develop and promote museums and heritage resources and museums of Bokone Bophirima. The unit establishes and provides support to museums and heritage facilities. The unit is guided by the National Heritage Resources Act No 25 of 1999 in the management and promotion of Heritage Resources. Furthermore, other statutory frameworks such as the South African Geographic Names Council Act, White Paper on Arts, Culture and Heritage, Museums policies, Cultural Promotion Act, National Heritage Council Act and other additional frameworks.

The unit works hand in glove with the Provincial Heritage Resources Authority (PHRA), Provincial Geographic Names Committee (PGNC) and North West Museums Committee (NWMC) to develop and promote heritage resources and museums of BOKONE BOPHIRIMA. PHRA is established in terms of the National Heritage Resouces Act, the Provincial Geographic Names Committee (PGNC), according to the South African Geographic Names Council Act and the North West Museums Committee (NWMC) is established in terms of the non-profit organisation prescripts.


• To transform Museums & Heritage structures and facilities
• To develop and promote Museums and a rich and diverse heritage of the Province
• To sustain Museums and Heritage Resources and Facilities.
• To use Museums and Heritage as a vehicle for social cohesion, national building and moral regeneration.
• To make museums a living space for communities to promote their indigenous knowledge systems, culture and heritage.
• To transform the heritage landscape through identification of sites and geographic name changes.
• To align Museums and Heritage mandates with pronouncements such as Re-positioning, Re-branding and Renewal (RRR), Reconciliation, Healing and Renewal (RHR) as well as the Saamtrek, Saamwerk paradigms.


The unit has so far identified 12 public museums (Mahikeng Museum in Mahikeng, Herman Charles Bosman Living Museum in Groot Marico, Lichtenburg Cultural and Lichtenburg Agriculture Museums in Lichtenburg, Kraaipan Museum in Mahukubung/ Kraaipan Village, Naledi Natural History Museum in Vryburg, Klerksdorp Cultural History Museum and Klerksdorp Transport Museum in the City of Matlosana, Potchefstroom Museum in Potchefstroom, Ikageng History Museum in Seolong Village and Mphebatho Cultural History Museum in Moruleng. And a private museum called Paul Kruger Museum in the Rustenburg area.

The unit has also compiled a provincial register or database of 400 heritage sites in BOKONE BOPHIRIMA. However this does not mean the list is exhaustive. There are new museums that are discovered and constructed whether public or private which are all part of promoting the tangible and intangible heritage of the Batswana People as well as other Cultural Communities in the Province. The province is rich with cultural heritage of other communities such as Ama-Xhosa, Basotho, Afrikaners, English speaking peoples as well as other sub-cultures that exist.

There are several projects and activities that characterize museums and heritage whether still in existence or have been



MEC. Ontlametse Mochware

Ms Nono Bapela

Provincial Call Centre

Mahika Mahikeng Music  & Cultural Festival

Join us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Our YouTube Channel Flickr Instagram