

Modiri Molema Road DPW Provincial Head Office Mmabatho, 2735 Private Bag X 2037, Mmabatho, 2735

Tel.: +27 (18) 387 2002 Fax.: +27 (18) 387 2868

Provincial Public Works to handle rates and taxes payments for all provincial properties.

DATE: TUESDAY, APRIL 08, 2008

By Oupa Segalwe

The North West Public Works department is to handle the payments of rates and taxes for all provincial government properties.

This follows a decision taken as part of the Government Immovable Asset Management Act (GIAMA) No. 19 of 2007, to demarcate the payment of such expenses from the national to the provincial Public Works departments.

GIAMA aims to among other things provide a uniformed immovable asset management framework to promote accountability & transparency.

It also seeks to ensure alignment of the use of immovable assets with the service delivery objectives of departments, to ensure the efficient utilization of such assets.

Currently the national department of Public Works is responsible for the payments of rates and taxes for all government properties in the province while the provincial department takes care of municipal services such as water and electricity for its own properties and shared buildings like Ga-Rona in Mmabatho.

Other provincial government departments individually pay for their own municipal services.

In this regard, both the national and provincial Public Works departments today met with several North West local municipalities on whose jurisdiction provincial government properties are located.

These municipalities included among others Mafikeng, Merafong, Tswaing, Greater Taung, Moses Kotane and Naledi.

According to Director for Property Management at the provincial Public Works department Pandora Hlakanye, the purpose of the meeting was to inform stakeholders about the rolling out of the implementation process.

"A decision has been taken that we as the provincial department should take over payments of rates and taxes for the provincial properties while the national department should focus on national properties," Hlakanye said.

This would also see the budget for rates and taxes, which is currently with the national department being forwarded to the provincial department of Public Works.

Hlakanye said under the current status quo, where responsibilities for all government properties are with the national department, municipalities end up receiving none or late payments.

"Municipalities end up forwarding invoices to us instead of directing them to the national department and this created problems like none or late payments," she said.

The national Department of Public Works will continue paying for rates and taxes of all national departments that are based in the province.

These departments include the SA Police Service, SA Defence Force, Correctional Services, Labour, Water Affairs and Forestry, Home Affairs and Land Affairs.

The gathering resolved that Public Works should continue with consultative meetings with stakeholders to iron out any confusion that may arise from the implementation process.

Ends

Issued by Communication Directorate
Contact Person: **Matshube Mfoloe**Contact Number: (018) 387 2447 / 0823054594
E-mail:mmfoloe@nwpg.gov.za

