Latest News

Gallery of Pictures

02 September 2021


Fifteen newly elected North West Public Transport Intervention Team (NWPTIT) members signed on doted lines to accept their responsibilities after being officially welcomed into the Department of Community Safety and Transport Management by MEC Sello Lehari, HoD Ms Botlhale Mofokeng, Chief Director Molefi Morule and Acting Chief Director Thabo Sematle at head office, Tirelo Building.

During his welcoming speech MEC Lehari said "your responsibility is enormous, your task will not be easy, the climb will be steep but I have no doubt that of all people who were nominated, we made the right call in appointing you for this duty. Surely you will have to hit the ground running literally as the transport sector in the North West Province has many challenges that need your urgent attention to resolve them."

The Chairperson elected to lead NWPTIT is Mr F. P Vilakazi from Bojanala District and his Deputy is Ms G. F Gaolaolwe from Ngaka Modiri Molema District. The team comprises of 6 females and 9 males including people with disabilities amongst the members. "Among other key responsibilities, you will be expected to investigate any wrong doing or allegations against any person who stir violence and conflicts in the public transport sector.

Also lead awareness campaigns for the purpose of preventing the conflict that have already left families grieving and children orphaned," said MEC Lehari.

He further pointed out the flashpoints that need NWPTIT urgent attention that include but not limited to Brits, Klerksdorp, Mahikeng, Ottosdal, Taung, Vryburg and Zeerust. There are several areas on the border with sister Provinces of Gauteng, Northern Cape and Limpopo where intervention needs to be expedited.

The team chairperson, Filakazi assured the MEC and Department executive including stakeholders that they will work closely to tackle all public transport sector challenges in the Province as they vary from district to district. "We will not tolerate any wrong doing and we will act ethically and fairly with all stakeholders involved and community of public transport sector," said Vilakazi in his acceptance speech as a Chairperson of NWPTIT.

Head of department Ms Botlhale Mofokeng in her vote of thanks said, she has put her trust and believe in the newly elected members of NWPTIT to resolve the challenges faced by public transport in the Province to bring stability and smooth operations.

She said by so doing, the economic transport will grow and all illegal operators must no longer be a problem factor. Stakeholders in attendance were Acting Chairperson of Provincial Regulatory Entity, Ms Ontlametse Mochware, Chairperson of SANTACO in the Province, Mr Serame Sebego and executive members, Chairperson of SANSBOC in the Province Mr Final Kgodumo and executives.

All members appointed were thoroughly selected according to their experiences and outstanding skills which will help the department to reach its objectives.

Next Articles+


MEC Sello Lehari

HOD Ms Botlhale Mofokeng

imageslideshow imageslideshow

You are visitor no: